SR22 Insurance in Wisconsin
The SR-22 certificate is required in Wisconsin to prove that you have the minimum financial responsibility while driving on the state's roads. This article will give you an insight on who needs SR-22 insurance, what the minimum limits are and how long you have to file the SR-22 form for.
Who needs SR-22 insurance in Wisconsin
As per the local rules and regulations, you have to obtain a SR-22 certificate as a Wisconsin resident if you fall under any of these categories:
- your driver's license or vehicle registration has been revoked;
- your driving privileges have been suspended under the uninsured motorist or safety responsibility law;
- if you are under 18 and have been found driving while breaking the young driver sponsorship law.
It is worth mentioning that the court may allow you to present alternative proof of financial responsibility. In some cases, it is perfectly acceptable to make a cash deposit of $60,000 with the WisDOT (Wisconsin Department of Transportation) present a bond from an auto insurance company as collateral.
You do not need proof of financial responsibility in any of these categories:
- you haven't complied with a driver safety plan, whether or not you have been arrested;
- it is your first DWI conviction;
- you haven't complied with an assessment interview.
Minimum insurance requirements in Wisconsin
Minimum requirements in Wisconsin are in place since June 1st, 2010. Next to the general Federal recommendations and the minimum liability insurance, the state of Wisconsin asks all drivers to also hold uninsured and underinsured coverage. The limits are as follows:
- $50,000 for expenses associated with the death or bodily injury of one person, up to $100,000 for all passengers involved;
- $15,000 for expenses associated with property damage of other vehicles involved;
- $100,000 for bodily injury or death of one uninsured/underinsured passenger, but not more than $300,000 for all uninsured/underinsured occupants.
Minimum SR-22 filing period in Wisconsin
The minimum filing period for the SR-22 form in Wisconsin is of three years but, depending on the seriousness of the offense committed, the court may decide a longer time frame.
SR-22 cancellation in Wisconsin
Letting your insurance lapse (most likely by missing payments with your insurer) leads to the immediate cancellation of your driver's license. Should you wish to have it reinstated, you must file for SR-22 all-over again.
If, at any point, you wish to voluntarily cancel your insurance and give up on your driving privileges in Wisconsin, you must let the insurer know of your choice and surrender your driver's license to the Wisconsin Department of Transportation. It goes without saying that you must hold a valid license at that moment.
Once the filing period is over, the insurer will most likely re-adjust your premium cost. Just to be on the safe side, it may be a good idea to give them a heads up.